​Home and Community-Based Services

hands, old, old age-4344711.jpg

General Information

Long Term Care (LTC) services include both Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) and LTC Facility Services. A person who has a medical need for LTC services may choose which program to participate in. If a person applies for medical assistance and payment of LTC services, they must also meet the non-financial and financial medical assistance eligibility requirements.

Long-Term Care Facility Services

Long term care facilities, also known as nursing homes, provide both short and long term nursing and rehabilitation services for persons that require 24-hour care. A list of LTC facilities in Pennsylvania may be found via the PA Department of Health website.

A person may also compare long-term care facilities at Medicare.govOpens In A New Window

Home and Community-Based Services

Home and community-based services are also known as waiver-funded services or waiver programs. The name waiver comes from the fact that the federal government “waives” medical assistance rules for institutional care in order for Pennsylvania to use the funds for HCBS. HCBS provides support and services beyond those covered by the Medical Assistance (also referred to as Medicaid) program that enables a person to remain in a community setting rather than being admitted to a Long Term Care Facility. Currently, the Department of Human Services administers 12 HCBS programs. Each HCBS program has its own eligibility requirements and services.

If a person is determined eligible for more than one HCBS program, the person cannot receive services under two or more such programs at the same time. The person must choose one HCBS program and receive the services provided by it.

For a list of the available home and community-based programs and their associated eligibility requirements follow HCBS dhs.pa.gov

Blog credit: dhs.pa.gov